Thursday, January 17, 2013


Even though a great deal of research has shown that adolescents who watch more risky behaviours in popular movies, like drinking or smoking, are more likely to drink and smoke themselves, surprisingly little research has examined whether movies influence adolescents’ sexual behaviours until now.

Over six years, psychological scientists examined whether or not seeing sex on the big screen translates into sex in the real world for adolescents. Their findings revealed not only that it did but also explained some of the reasons why. “Much research has shown that adolescents’ sexual attitudes and behaviours are influenced by media,” said Ross O’Hara, currently a post-doctoral fellow at the University of Missouri, who conducted the research with other psychological scientists while at Dartmouth College. “But the role of movies has been somewhat neglected, despite other findings that movies are more influential than TV or music,” O’Hara noted. Before recruiting participants for the study, O’Hara and his fellow researchers surveyed 684 top grossing movies from 1998 to 2004. They coded the movies for seconds of sexual content, like heavy kissing or sexual intercourse.

Researchers then recruited 1,228 participants who were from 12 to 14 years of age. Each participant reported which movies they had seen from a number of different collections of fifty that were randomly selected. Six years later the participants were surveyed to find out how old they were when they became sexually active and how risky their sexual behaviour might have been. Did they use condoms consistently? Were they monogamous or did they have multiple partners? “Adolescents who are exposed to more sexual content in movies start having sex at younger ages, have more sexual partners, and are less likely to use condoms with casual sexual partners,” O’Hara explained.

To find out why do movies have these effects on adolescents, these researchers examined the role of a personality trait known as sensation-seeking. One of the great dangers of adolescence, is the predisposition for “sensation seeking” behaviour. Between the ages of ten and fifteen, the tendency to seek more novel and intense stimulation of all kinds peaks. The wild hormonal surges of adolescence makes judicious thinking a bit more difficult. O’Hara and his colleagues found that greater exposure to sexual content in movies at a young age actually led to a higher peak in sensation seeking during adolescence.

As a result, sensation seeking sexual behaviour can last well into the late teens and even into the early twenties if young people are exposed to these kinds of movies. But researchers point out that sexual exposure in movies tends to activate sensation seeking both because of biology and the way that boys and girls are socialized. “These movies appear to fundamentally influence their personality through changes in sensation-seeking, which has far-reaching implications for all of their risk-taking behaviours,” O’Hara said. But sensation seeking did not entirely explain these effects; the researchers also speculate that adolescents learn specific behaviours from the sexual messages in movies.

Many adolescents turn to movies to acquire “sexual scripts” that offer examples of how to behave when confronted with complicated emotional situations. Researchers point out that it is important to remember that this research cannot conclude a direct causal effect of movies on sexual behaviour.

Nonetheless, O’Hara said, “This study, and its confluence with other work, strongly suggests that parents need to restrict their children from seeing sexual content in movies at young ages.” Their findings will be published in Psychological Science, a journal of the Association for Psychological Science.

ANI Pic from Showtime!
Wednesday, January 16, 2013
Sharing  #Twitter accounts of your favorite Bollywood Celebrities here:

Amitabh Bachchan - http://twitter.com/SrBachchan
Aamir Khan – http://twitter.com/Aamir_Khan
Akshay Kumar – http://twitter.com/akshaykumar
Abhishek Bachchan - http://twitter.com/juniorbachchan
Ajay Devgn - http://twitter.com/ajaydevgn
Abhay Deol - http://twitter.com/abhaydeol
Anupam Kher - http://twitter.com/AnupamPkher
Arjun Rampal - http://twitter.com/rampalarjun
Aftab Shivdasani - http://twitter.com/aftab_ps
Arshad Warsi –  http://twitter.com/imarshadwarsi
A R Rahman – http://twitter.com/arrahman
Ashwin Mushran - http://twitter.com/ashwinmushran
Anurag Kashyap - http://twitter.com/ankash1009
Anurag Basu - http://twitter.com/basuanurag
Atul Kulkarni - http://twitter.com/atul_kulkarni
Arbaaz Khan - http://twitter.com/arbaazSkhan
Archana Puran Singh - http://twitter.com/apshaha
Ayesha Takia – http://twitter.com/Ayeshatakia
Ameesha Patel - http://twitter.com/ameesha_patel
Ashmit Patel - http://twitter.com/AshmitPatel
Asha Bhosle - http://twitter.com/ashabhosle
Aparna Sen - http://twitter.com/senaparna
Amrita Arora - http://twitter.com/amuarora
Amrita Rao -  http://twitter.com/Amritaraotweetz
Anushka Sharma – http://twitter.com/ANUSHKASHARMA01
Angela Jonsson - http://twitter.com/angela_jonsson
Anushka Manchanda - http://twitter.com/IAmAnushka
Atul Kasbekar - http://twitter.com/goancrazy
Abhishek Kapoor - http://twitter.com/Abhishekapoor
Arjun Sablok - http://twitter.com/arjunsablok
Anurag Basu - http://twitter.com/basuanurag
Anubhav Sinha - http://twitter.com/anubhavsinha
Ashish Chowdhry - http://twitter.com/AshishChowdhry
Anjana Sukhani - http://twitter.com/sukhanianjana
Ali Zafar - http://twitter.com/AliZafarsays
Ankur Tewari - http://twitter.com/ankurtewari
Boman Irani - http://twitter.com/bomanirani
Bipasha Basu - http://twitter.com/bipsluvurself
Bhagyashree - http://twitter.com/bhagyashree123
Bruna Abdalah - http://twitter.com/Bruabdalah
Bejoy Nambiar - http://twitter.com/nambiarbejoy
Babul Supriyo - http://twitter.com/SuPriyoBabul
Chunky Panday - http://twitter.com/ChunkyThePanday
Celina Jaitly – http://twitter.com/CelinaJaitly
Chandan Roy Sanyal - http://twitter.com/CHANDANSANYAL
Dilip Kumar - http://twitter.com/TheDilipKumar
Deepa Mehta -  http://twitter.com/IamDeepaMehta
Dev Anand - http://twitter.com/itsmedevanand/
Deepika Padukone - http://twitter.com/deepikapadukone
Dino Morea – http://twitter.com/DinoMorea9
Divya Dutta - http://twitter.com/divyadutta25
Dia Mirza - http://twitter.com/deespeak
Dabboo Ratnani – http://twitter.com/DabbooRatnani
Dibakar Banerjee - http://twitter.com/DibakarBanerjee
Daler Mehndi - http://twitter.com/dalermehndi
Danish Aslam - http://twitter.com/dan1shaslam
Dharma Productions - http://twitter.com/TeamDharma
Ehsaan Noorani - http://twitter.com/EhsaanNoorani
Emraan Hashmi - http://twitter.com/emraanhashmi
Eesha Koppikhar - http://twitter.com/eeshatweets
Esha Deol - http://twitter.com/Esha_Deol
Farah Khan - http://twitter.com/thefarahkhan
Farhan Akhtar - http://twitter.com/faroutakhtar
Fardeen Khan - http://twitter.com/khanff
Freida Pinto – http://twitter.com/freidapinto
Gul Panag – http://twitter.com/gulpanag
Genelia D’souza - http://twitter.com/geneliad
Gaurav Kapur - http://twitter.com/gauravkapur
Gulshan Devaiah - http://twitter.com/supergullu
Goldie Behl - http://twitter.com/GOLDIEBEHL
Hema Malini - http://twitter.com/dreamgirlhema
Hrithik Roshan - http://twitter.com/iHrithik
Hard Kaur - http://twitter.com/HardKaurWorld
Hansika Motwani - http://twitter.com/_Hansika
Imran Khan – http://twitter.com/1mrankhan
Imtiaz Ali - http://twitter.com/1mtiazali
Juhi Chawla - http://twitter.com/iam_juhi
Jimmy Sheirgill - http://twitter.com/jimmysheirgill
Jaaved Jaaferi - http://twitter.com/jaavedjaaferi
Javed Akhtar - http://twitter.com/Javedakhtarjadu
Jugal Hansraj - http://twitter.com/jugalhansraj
Jacqueline Fernandez - http://twitter.com/Jackie_alien
Jiah Khan - http://twitter.com/jiahkhan
Kabir Bedi - http://twitter.com/iKabirBedi
Karan Johar - http://twitter.com/kjohar25
Kunal Kapoor - http://twitter.com/kapoorkkunal
Koel Purie - http://twitter.com/Koelscouch
Koyna Mitra - http://twitter.com/KoynaMitra
Kalki Koechlin - http://twitter.com/kalkikanmani
Kunal Kohli - http://twitter.com/kunalkohli
Kunal Kemmu - http://twitter.com/kunalkemmu
Kabir Khan - http://twitter.com/kabirkhankk
Ken Ghosh - http://twitter.com/kenghosh
Konkona Sen Sharma - http://twitter.com/konkonas
Kunal Deshmukh - http://twitter.com/kunal_deshmukh
Kailash Kher - http://twitter.com/Kailashkher
Kulraj Randhawa - http://twitter.com/kulraj_randhawa
Kainaz Motivala - http://twitter.com/KainazM
Lata Mangeshkar - http://twitter.com/mangeshkarlata
Lucky Ali - http://twitter.com/luckyali
Lara Dutta – http://twitter.com/DuttaLara
Lisa Ray – http://twitter.com/Lisaraniray
Mira Nair - http://twitter.com/MiraPagliNair
Madhuri Dixit - http://twitter.com/MadhuriDixit1
Manoj Bajpayee - http://twitter.com/bajpayeemanoj
Minissha Lamba - http://twitter.com/Minissha_Lamba
Meghna Gulzar – http://twitter.com/meghnagulzar
Mallika Sherawat – http://twitter.com/MallikaLA
Monica Dogra - http://twitter.com/Shaair
Mahesh Bhatt - http://twitter.com/MaheshNBhatt
Madhur Bhandarkar – http://twitter.com/mbhandarkar268
Mugdha Godse - http://twitter.com/mugdhagodse267
Mrinalini Sharma - http://twitter.com/mrinalinisharm
Manish Malhotra - http://twitter.com/ManishMalhotra1
Mohit Suri - http://twitter.com/mohit11481
Mohan Lal - http://twitter.com/Lal_Mohanlal
Mubina Rattonsey - http://twitter.com/mubinarattonsey
Milap Zaveri - http://twitter.com/zmilap
Mukta Arts - http://twitter.com/MuktaArtsLtd
Nagesh Kukunoor -  http://twitter.com/nkukunoor
Neil Nitin Mukesh - http://twitter.com/NeilNMukesh
Nikhil Dwivedi - http://twitter.com/Nikhil_Dwivedi
Neha Dhupia – http://twitter.com/Neha_Dhupia
Neelam Kothari - http://twitter.com/neelamkothari
Nana Patekar - http://twitter.com/PatekarN
Nargis Fakhri - http://twitter.com/NargisFakhri
Onir - http://twitter.com/Onir_anticlock
Omi Vaidya - http://twitter.com/OmiOneKenobe
Pooja Bhatt - http://twitter.com/PoojaB1972
Preity Zinta - http://twitter.com/realpreityzinta
Priyanka Chopra – http://twitter.com/priyankachopra
Parineeti Chopra - http://twitter.com/ParineetiChopra
Pritish Nandy – http://twitter.com/PritishNandy
Parvin Dabas - http://twitter.com/parvindabas
Preeti Jhangiani - http://twitter.com/preetijhangiani
Prateik Babbar - https://twitter.com/PrAtEiK1986
Payal Rohatgi - http://twitter.com/payal_rohatgi
Purab Kohli – http://twitter.com/onephk
Prakash Jha - http://twitter.com/prakashjha1
Prakash Raj - http://twitter.com/prakashraaj
Punit Malhotra - http://twitter.com/punitdmalhotra
Preeti Desai - http://twitter.com/misspreetidesai
Rahul Bose - http://twitter.com/RahulBose1
Ranveer Singh - http://twitter.com/RanveerOfficial
Rituparno Ghosh - http://twitter.com/RITUPARNOGHOSH
Resul Pookutty - http://twitter.com/resulp
Rajat Kapoor - http://twitter.com/mrrajatkapoor
Ritesh Sidhwani - http://twitter.com/ritesh_sid
Ravi K. Chandran - http://twitter.com/dop007
RensilDSilva - http://twitter.com/RensilDSilva
Rajeev Khandelwal - http://twitter.com/RKhandelwal16
Raima Sen - http://twitter.com/raimasen
Riya Sen - http://twitter.com/riyasen24
Rohan Sippy - http://twitter.com/rohansippy
Raveena Tandon - http://twitter.com/TandonRaveena
Rajeev Masand - http://twitter.com/RajeevMasand
R. Madhavan - http://twitter.com/ActorMadhavan
Ritesh Deshmukh – http://twitter.com/Riteishd
Ranvir Shorey - http://twitter.com/ranvirshorey
Rahul Khanna – http://twitter.com/R_Khanna
Ram Gopal Varma – http://twitter.com/rgvzoomin
Rajkumar Hirani - http://twitter.com/RajkumarHirani
Rhea Kapoor - http://twitter.com/RheaKapoor
Raghav Sachar - http://twitter.com/raghavsachar
Rakhi Sawant – http://twitter.com/rakhisawant
Roshan Abbas - http://twitter.com/roshanabbas
Shakti Kapoor - http://twitter.com/ShaktiKapoor123
Sanjay Dutt - http://twitter.com/duttsanjay
Salman Khan - http://twitter.com/BeingSalmanKhan
Sushmita Sen - http://twitter.com/thesushmitasen
Shabana Azmi - http://twitter.com/AzmiShabana
Shilpa Shetty - http://twitter.com/THESHILPASHETTY
Shatrughan Sinha - http://twitter.com/Shotgunshoots
Shah Rukh Khan - http://twitter.com/iamsrk
Siddharth Narayan - http://twitter.com/Actor_Siddharth
Shahana Goswami - http://twitter.com/ShahanaGoswami
Sameera Reddy - http://twitter.com/reddysameera
Satish Kaushik - http://twitter.com/satishkaushik2
Suresh Menon - http://twitter.com/sureshnmenon
Shriya Saran – http://twitter.com/Shriya_S
Sajid Khan - http://twitter.com/sajidk23
Sonu Sood - http://twitter.com/sonusood18
Shahid Kapoor - http://twitter.com/shahidkapoor
Sonam Kapoor - http://twitter.com/sonamakapoor
Shraddha Kapoor - http://twitter.com/ShraddhaKapoor
Sandhya Mridul - http://twitter.com/sandymridul
Sarah-Jane Dias - http://twitter.com/sarahjanedias03
Soniya Mehra - http://twitter.com/soniyamehra
Shazahn Padamsee - http://twitter.com/shazahnpadamsee
Sonal Chauhan - http://twitter.com/sonalchauhan7
Soni Razdan - http://twitter.com/twsoneez
Sophie Choudry - http://twitter.com/Sophie_Choudry
Sonakshi Sinha - http://twitter.com/sonakshisinha
Shruti Haasan - http://twitter.com/shrutihaasan
Sarah Jane Dias - http://twitter.com/sarahjanedias03
Shreyas Talpade - http://twitter.com/shreyastalpade1
Shruti Seth - http://twitter.com/SethShruti
Sherlyn Chopra - http://twitter.com/SherlynChopra
Shekhar Kapur – http://twitter.com/shekharkapur
Shridhar Raghavan - http://twitter.com/ShridharR
Shekhar Ravjiani - http://twitter.com/5hekhar
Sanjay Suri – http://twitter.com/sanjaysuri
Sammir Dattani - http://twitter.com/SammirDattani
Sikandar Kher - http://twitter.com/sikandarbk
Siddharth Malhotra - http://twitter.com/sidmalhotra01
Sujoy Ghosh - http://twitter.com/sujoy_g
Shirish Kunder - http://twitter.com/ShirishKunder
Suparn Verma - http://twitter.com/Suparn
Saurabh Shukla - http://twitter.com/saurabhshukla_
Sonu Niigaam - http://twitter.com/sonuniigaam
Shantanu Mukherji - http://twitter.com/singer_shaan
Shantanu Moitra - http://twitter.com/shantanumoitra
Shubha Mudgal - http://twitter.com/smudgal
Sunidhi Chauhan - http://twitter.com/sunidhichauhan5
Shreya Ghoshal - http://twitter.com/shreyaghoshal
Sangeeth Sivan - http://twitter.com/sangeethsivan
Shekhar Ravjiani - http://twitter.com/5hekhar
Shankar Mahadevan - http://twitter.com/Shankar_Live
Salim Merchant - http://twitter.com/salim_merchant
Salim Sulaiman - http://twitter.com/SlimSulaiman
Subhash Ghai - http://twitter.com/SubhashGhai1
Tejaswini Kolhapure - http://twitter.com/TejuKolhapure
Tisca Chopra - http://twitter.com/tisca_chopra
Tusshar Kapoor - http://twitter.com/TusshKapoor
Tarun Mansukhani - http://twitter.com/Tarunmansukhani
Uday Chopra – http://twitter.com/udaychopra
Urvashi Sharma - http://twitter.com/sharmaurvashi
UTV Motion Pictures - http://twitter.com/utvmp
Vidhu Vinod Chopra - http://twitter.com/VVCFilms
Vidya Balan - http://twitter.com/vidya_balan
Vinay Pathak - http://twitter.com/pathakvinay
Vir Das - http://twitter.com/TheVirDas
Vivek Oberoi - http://twitter.com/vivek_oberoi
Vivek Agnihotri - http://twitter.com/vivekagnihotri
Vikram Bhatt - http://twitter.com/thevikrambhatt
Vishal Dadlani - http://twitter.com/V1SH4L
Yaana Gupta - http://twitter.com/yaanagupta
Yashraj Films - http://twitter.com/yrfmovies
Y Films - http://twitter.com/Y_films
Zareen Khan - http://twitter.com/zareen_khan
Zoa Morani - http://twitter.com/zoamorani


For any corrections write to team@enjoybollywood.com or mention in feedback/comments section of the site, any complaints send to mail@sukh.co to Sukh Sandhu. 
Wednesday, March 7, 2012
Bollywood veteran Joy Mukherjee, who has been admitted to the Lilavati Hospital here, has shown no signs of improvement and the next 72 hours till Friday will be crucial, his wife said. "He is stable at the moment because of the ventilator. But he is not conscious as of now.

Doctors said said the next 48 to 72 hours will be crucial," Neelam Mukherjee told IANS Tuesday.

The actor-filmmaker was admitted to the hospital Monday morning.



According to his spokesperson RR Pathak, the 73-year-old had not been keeping too well for some time.

Mukherjee comes from a film family -- his father Sashadhar Mukherjee, who was married to legendary actor Ashok Kumar's sister Sati, was the co-founder of Filmalaya Studios.

Mukherjee made his cinematic debut in 1960 with Love In Simla. Post that he became popular with projects like Shagird, Love in Tokyo, Bahu Beti, Ziddi, Phir Wohi Dil Laya Hoon, Ek Musafir Ek Hasina, Puraskar, Ishaara and Hum Hindustani.

The paternal uncle of actors Kajol and Tanisha, Mukherjee also directed movies like Love in Bombay (1974), Chhaila Babu (1977), Saanjh Ki Bela (1981) and Umeed (1989).

Search

Loading...

Share it!!!